Home > Art/Photography > Emotion/Expressive

Emotion/Expressive

all taken in Medellin, Colombia.

a little story.
when I look at this photo, I hold my breath a little.. knowing the very girl reaching out for her friend’s hand. to support, to be supported. this was taken at the Open Arms Downtown Center mid-afternoon. the girls had just showered, clothes were drying on the banister overlooking the pool-area. conversation and attentive listening between the staff and girls took place: gently, quietly. laughter. open air. scent of exhaust.

another story.
this young girl came to listen in a children’s church service saturday morning in her town. just a story above moravia, a group of people gathered to teach, laugh and love the kids through song, dancing, puppetry and interaction. she stayed near the door for the entirety of our time there: attentive, sucker popping in-and-out… pop, click, pop, chew. tapping her foot. smiling at me.


(click for detailed view)
my taxi sat behind buses at a stoplight, downtown medellin. a man to my right sits… without motion – only emotion. I had to process so much in so little time. focus, assess, process, capture. flipping through what I had caught later, I relived moment after moment. some surprised me, some I do not recall and lived for the very first time, some… I cried looking at. what I had a responsibility to capture overwhelmed me. only by Grace could I begin to comprehend it all.

Categories: Art/Photography Tags:
  1. courtneyrenae
    August 27, 2009 at 8:18 PM

    these are absolutely amazing. the work God does through you is beautiful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

