Home > Uncategorized > A Bit of A Release:

A Bit of A Release:

“For example, a marriage without a place, a household, has nothing to show for itself. Without a history of some length, it does not know what it means, without community, to exert a shaping pressure around it, it may explode because of the pressure inside of it.” 

excerpt from The Art of the Commonplace by Wendell Berry; Men and Women in Search of Commonplace

 

 I feel that pressure. My “marriage” is my relationship with the Living God. This quote is true of me. And that pressure inside of it, this relationship I have, can be clearly seen in Jeremiah, 

                “If I say, ‘I will not mention him or speak any more his name,’ there is in my heart as it were a burning fire, shut up in my bones, and I am weary with holding it in, and I cannot.” [20:9] 

 

The pressure, the burning is deepening and expanding. It consumes me. There hasn’t been a release to this building pressure, an healthy inward inhale and exhale; and I’ll say now: it must happen soon. I don’t want to think of the “or’s.” 

My faith for now will stand with few words in a strength given to me each morning through grace. Glory to God. 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 20, 2008 at 3:17 AM

    One of the books i found in that San Josey book shop was The Art Of The Commonplace. Glad you’re getting into Wendell Berry. I love him.

  2. December 20, 2008 at 3:25 AM

    great quote!!! thank you for sharing, my dear 🙂

  3. December 20, 2008 at 5:42 AM

    wow, just what i needed tonight. i need God desperately.

  4. December 22, 2008 at 9:11 PM

    amos – we had that book in our library at home, I read some, and Nate brought that book to Africa. I remember that day fondly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

