Home > Uncategorized > Transition

Transition

This simple Scripture [below] I read two mornings ago while the sky, at 6am, is still the darkest of blue hues, and the silence is deafening. These few verses stilled my spirit in this transition back into American culture. Sitting there, I remembered the early, warm mornings just a few weeks ago — you could never beat the sun. I wanted to, and few times attempted to. But, the sky is brilliant at the wee hour of 5am, and I couldn’t force myself awake before then. It was always the one to wake me up — bright; softly stroking my cheek through the white, long curtains across from my bed view whispering, “Wake up, Lauren, wake up…” And in moments of my sleepy eyes opening, children would run past my bunk and into the toilet in the back. I always attempted to wait for a moment to sneak off my top bunk and into the kitchen, but, as always, they caught me. Every morning, they caught that first, awkward-morning glance and laughed at me. And the same thought went through my head every time, they are seeing teacher before teacher is awake enough to speak, ohh my. Alas, they saw me later down on the school grounds with the same, laughing glance as earlier that morning never lacking in speaking my name, Teacha, Teacha!

 

Now, onto that verse that is currently calming me… I now fully know what Paul was talking about.

“I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you have no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

Philippians 4:10-13

 

 

Oh, I guess they’ll say I’ve grown
I know more than I wanted to know
I’ve said more than I wanted to say
I’m headed home

Yeah, but I’m not so sure that home is a place you can still get to by train… 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. z.
    December 12, 2008 at 12:57 AM

    mmm…good jon foreman lyrics.
    i’m hoping to go to africa this springbreak. if i do, i’m hoping to be changed and heartbroken…

  2. December 12, 2008 at 5:31 PM

    Lauren,

    This is beautiful. I love your words juxtaposed with the images you capture. Thank you so much for sharing. You are an inspiration to me. Let’s meet sometime soon!

    Laura

  3. December 13, 2008 at 7:03 PM

    We just found out that we’ll be in WV through New Years and Joel and I were just wondering if you guys would want to do something that night.

    Ps. lovely picture and lovely words as always.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

