Home > adventures, solitude, travel > Smell the flowers, Blow out the Candles

Smell the flowers, Blow out the Candles

Something that I’m going to take home with me from this place is so simple and yet, so valuable. To feel the depth of ones beauty, be able to embrace it, feel seen even though you are alone, smile inwardly and geuninely, smell the flowers… blow out the candles. Smell the flowers, blow out the candles. Repeat over and over until you’ve passed that one certain rock, turned the corner, stomped upon those fallen purple-hued flowers scattered across dark, red clay; some days dry, some days damp. Inhale, exhale, beating the ground with heavy-laced shoes.

The kids will come out and play while we take our evening run down through the school and around the farm. The dirt-clay soccer field holds their attention for quite sometime and the playground entertains for the remainder.

Tonight, I turned the corner and saw Nyiko sitting in the middle of the dirt road. I smiled. He smiled back. I passed him playing his new, shiny harmonica courtesy of Nate and a lovely man back in Nashville. He laughed. I always seem to say the kids names and wink right after. “Nyiko! (wink)” He laughs again; that beautiful, high-pitched laugh. This time to my pleasant surprise… he winks back. Perched there in the middle of the dirt road, time slowed. I proceeded to turn my running, sweating body to face him – “Nyiko!” – He looked up again and watched, making fun of me, as now, I was running backwards. Just as much as we think the kids are goofs, they think we are, too. It equals out and is quite enjoyable. So many little things to enjoy, to laugh at, to remember. And this being one of them. My memory, my camera.

——-

It’s easy to write about things that naturally capture your soul. Not trying to conjure up some epic truth of some kind, but simply expressing how life is beautiful.

β€œIt is always the simple things that change our lives. And these things never happen when you are looking for them to happen. Life will reveal answers at the pace life wishes to do so. You feel like running, but life is on a stroll. This is how God does things.”
-Donald Miller

51 pages [ front and back ] have been filled in my journal.
Active progress: living out and wresting with the questions and loosing the desire to find all, the, answers.

A quote I took with me before I left from a past journal:

“Do not grow faster than you should. You may dislocate and be ineffective. And what good is that? To be ineffective? Wait and grow, strength comes in time. It does not come overnight. Nothing is truly good unless it is worth the wait.”
[ Summer, 2007 ]

  1. November 25, 2008 at 12:18 AM

    Lauren, the way in which you described a memory is how I portray life… a mere breath, a memory to breathe it in and then let it out, and it will bless others in the process. Some memories that I remember vividly come back to me, and it makes me smile. Yeah, I would love to of had a picture to of captured the moment, but its not always possible. But, the mind is sure a great camera. πŸ™‚ I love you my sister,

    caity bec<3

  2. November 26, 2008 at 8:58 PM

    oh lauren, how i loved that. im sorry i didn’t read it until now, ive been dealing with things inside, and ive had a hard time focusing in on the passion of my heart, what you are doing… i just couldn’t take it, because im foolish… please, utterly forgive me. i love you soo.

    i dont even know how to explain, no words can describe, how i feel when i read that. i know i know. i love you

  3. December 1, 2008 at 3:24 AM

    I’m so refreshed to read your journeys – it’s beautiful, truly beautiful. I can’t wait to read more – the insights are Spirit borne through a soul that clearly is listening…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

