Home > "south africa" > Reflections of Week Two.

Reflections of Week Two.

As expected, there’s a lot going on in me while I’m here. I came with a lot of questions needing answered concerning what’s next, how I will take those steps I know I should, who I am in my God, and in turn, learning who I am all over again. It’s a heartwrenching, beautiful process that I’ve longed for to this intensity for quite sometime… and it’s finally here. There must be a struggle to have a repair.

“The role of the artist is the same as the lover. If I love you, I have to make you conscious of the things you don’t see.” – James Baldwin

I’ve noticed so far that what I capture through the lens can be two different things: movement I’ve seen displayed attempting to capture it to the best of my ability to communicate truth that has already resinated in me, or, a surprsing truth I hadn’t seen before until the shutter has released and the photo is displayed on the back of my screen or developed… and the subject I’m photographing educates silently a simple truth I had not already discovered.

Today, I came to the simple revelation that you must write your own story as equally as those you write of others. All our stories are intertwined and right now, mine is a part of Pfunanane Academy in the town of Duiwelskloof, South Africa. It’s a part of the kindhearted, hardworking and beautiful people surrounding and challenging me. It’s a part of those I don’t know by name, but their presence and glare leaves a lasting impression.

There are many, many small and large projects going on with the school as we speak. Portraits of the sponsored kids, photos of those who need sponsored, house visits to the families, fulfilling in the next few weeks their media needs to raise awareness and funds, photos for upcoming newpaper articles and billboards and simply, documenting life at the school. The school concert is in just a week and half (Nov 11th) — and we’re also finishing painting sets, working on dramas and dances and last minute costumes. Now you can see why I’m not posting much here, eh? : )

I’ll leave you with a few photos:
(it’s hard to load photos with the current internet situation, but I get a few up every now and then)

DSC_0154
Nate’s abode.

nate
first day of shooting.

nate2
these are all of nate. can’t take “in action” photos of myself, haha.

nate3

makoma and I
beautiful Makoma.

me and Khbw_2
my buddy, Khutgo.

goodnight, all.

Categories: "south africa"
  1. November 1, 2008 at 4:18 PM

    I see you have a new best friend. Khutgo:)

    It’s great to see new things:) love you.

  2. November 2, 2008 at 7:50 AM

    That little boy, Khutgo, reminds me so much of one of the kids from the ADC camp in Charleston. Looks just like him.

    You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers constantly. I know you’re beautiful soul is being poured out on them and their’s are being poured upon you as well.

  3. Debbie
    November 2, 2008 at 4:59 PM

    It looks like you are having an amazing time there. I’m really happy for you 🙂

  4. November 2, 2008 at 10:33 PM

    my heart is aching for these children, lauren.

    : ) our God is marvelous!
    i hope He keeps you safe and blesses you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

