Home > Uncategorized > Dance Shoot

Dance Shoot

A good friend of mine, Lauren, and I had a shoot last week on Thursday. Her brother, Joel, and my friend, Anna, came along too and assisted. Joel is extremely talented in filmmaking and continually learning and growing in the field of photography, and Anna’s love for photography done right is incredible. She knows the ropes of film and darkroom as well as digital, which is rare and I love it. 

Film wise, we shot with a Mamiya RB67 and a Rolleiflex as well as a few fun shots on my Holga. Digitally, I had my Nikon gear and Anna had her Canon gear. Joel was my lighting master. When I get home from Africa, I’m investing in the lighting I’ve been needing, but until then, I get creative. We had two spotlights for the indoor shots with my reflector and SB800. Outdoors, it was a perfectly overcast day and used my flash and reflector or simply natural light. I always seem to learn more on every shoot – and this one was no different.

I’ve got two more dance shoots before I’m off to Ad Deum in Houston in August. I seriously wish there was a place to rent some lighting equipment around here… but to my dismay, there’s not. 

I’m picking up the color film today and b/w tomorrow. I’ll post those soon.

 

Lauren

Lauren (color)

Lauren

Lauren

Lauren

Lauren

Lauren

 

Lauren

Lauren

 

 

A little behind the scenes:

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 14, 2008 at 7:58 PM

    now where’s the power stance?!?!?! 😉

  2. Joy
    July 17, 2008 at 7:49 AM

    hey girl!
    Awwesome photos. You do these so well <33
    Couldn’t help but notice that nifty camera bag backpack you have, mind if I ask what brand it is? I need a new one so bad!

  3. July 17, 2008 at 2:58 PM

    Thanks, Joy : ) Yes, I love my backpack… in need a bigger one to travel to South Africa with, but this one has served me for 2 years. It’s a Lowepro and about $40 bucks. It fits 4 lenses, camera body, 2 flashes (if you get creative in how you pack it) and tons of extra cords and batteries in the front large zips. Pretty rad.

    : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

