Home > Uncategorized > A post long overdue –

A post long overdue –

And I don’t feel guilty about it.

The past few weeks (months, really) are pretty hard to explain. A lot of long pauses between sentences… actually, simply put it’s been a time of margin, of pauses, of endings and of change. Fresh. I feel like a new woman and I’m stepping into a complete new season of life – something I’d more than love to keep a mystery. It’s the mystery of my God that keeps me pursuing, that keeps me guessing, that keeps me falling in love with Him even more. I’d say, He’s a pretty wise guy for that. No chance you’ll ever be bored. ; ) 

So, in time, I’ll unveil the things going on in my heart and in my life. I’m home in West Virginia, I’ve joined a running club (Couch to 5K!) and I jog/run 3+ miles every other day. I walk to the local Tim Hortons where there are some great employees that make my day. I get a bagel and cream cheese with an iced coffee almost every day. I’m spending time with two beautiful young girls, Brittany and Tabitha, while some hardship is going on in the community. I’m learning the value of community and how faithful I’ve been loved by people around here… I’m amazed. There have been dinner parties, bonfires, jam sessions, walks, picnics; people have stayed so late over here they crash on the couch : ) It’s been incredible and exactly what I’ve needed. I went back to sports therapy for a check up after 6 months – no more issues from past dance injuries; so good to hear. I’m training again for a dance intensive this summer in August and I’ve been choreographing a 7 minute piece to Saeglopur by Sigur Ros (off the Takk album). I’ve missed the art form of movement… and from my time off from it, it’s come back even stronger and I feel more alive than ever. 

Right now, my main focus is not about ‘making money.’ The only reason I make money is to do the things I love, to support those I love and to well, live – because apparently, the world revolves around money and you simply can’t live without it. It’s not my driving force, it’s okay if for a month I “get by.” I am learning, I am more confident than I ever have been, I am challenging myself, pushing myself – but also, taking margin, reflecting, refining my art and why I create it in the first place. I’m learning to walk and live in these checks and balances… and well, literally, too… checks and balances. Ha. 

 

I’m digging into a lot of suggested reads and would love if you had a few of your favorites to throw my way. As of late, I’m also enjoying Grizzly Bear, Midlake, Mum, Jeff Tweedy, The Cinematic Orchestra (esp ‘to build a home’) and the new and old of The Weepies (been a favorite for quite awhile). Also, thanks to the love affair Dan had with Mary Oliver the first day I met him, I’ve begun more of one as well. She’s in the daily reads now and finishing The Art of Commonplace by Wendell Berry. More than anything I’ve been digging into this.

 

Also, had a great time this past weekend hanging out and catching up with some old friends-

Ryan, Andrew & I

Arian Jalali

Lauren Cole

 

 

I’ll try and be more consistent in my posting ; ) 

 

love all of you.
-lauren

 

PS: preparation for South Africa is even more underway. details to come : ) 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 4, 2008 at 6:43 PM

    i love the weepies and grizzly bear. good choices 🙂

    i’m not sure if you have read any of the recent iranian womens literature that has been coming out for the past few years, but most of it is beautiful and heart breaking. if you want a taste of it i would recommend My Sister, Guard Your Veil; My Brother, Guard Your Eyes. It is a collection of essays and its a wonderful introduction to many brilliant writers. Anyway, thats my recommendation. See you soon! 🙂

  2. June 4, 2008 at 8:13 PM

    i agree with jess, good musics 🙂

    I can definitely identify with you on this post :). except for the part about “I feel like a new woman”. not so much on that one..

  3. June 5, 2008 at 5:24 AM

    lauren… you are sooo cool. seriously. i love your blog, your photos, your long overdue posts. you’re such an inspiration. i love it! it makes me want to come to west virginia… wherever that is. if you ever feel like stopping by vancouver, bc… you need to send me a message!

    =)

    leah

  4. June 18, 2008 at 8:42 PM

    what an honor to be linked here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

