Home > Uncategorized > a fresh start

a fresh start

a fresh start

 

 

There have been tons of new photos I’ve been working on lately. I’ve been stepping back a bit from doing so many shoots and have been trying new things, redefining what it means for me to be a photographer. I’ve discovered new things about myself, about photography and my direction. This is definitely going to be an exciting year, and I know that uploads have been sparse on flickr and on my blog – but in time, you’ll be seeing my progress and I’ll do my best to keep you updated along the way. I’d love for you to join me on this journey and give advice – and maybe, even more of our paths will cross in the near future. Thanks so much for support thus far.

 

A few things planned on the calendar: 

  • June is looking to be a month off for me with close friends and family doing some traveling along with some needed solitude.
  • Tentatively heading to Medellin, Columbia, South America in July. Keep me in your prayers about this. I would be working with Open Arms Foundation shooting some much needed photos for their upcoming website, which, I would love to give the opportunity to one of my web designer friends (you?) in helping them out with a new, simple website so the world can stay connected with what they’re doing. If you’re interested, contact me. Their organization is community-based and has stood the test of time in getting the hundreds and hundred of boys off the streets and through a process to where they can go back into society with a trade learned (agriculture is huge there) and ready to face the world new. I could go on and on. 
  • In August I will be heading to the 10-day Ad Deum Dance Intensive in Houston, TX. I will be pursuing more opportunities that have opened up with dance photography and of course, dance. Hopefully, I will be performing a personally choreographed solo or duet piece throughout that time. 
  • For the month of Sept, I will be in Modjadjiskloof (also known as Duiwelskloof), South Africa with Pfunanane Academy alongside, Sarah Deppen-Haver. I will documenting my time there in both photographs and writing and also to help with the end of the year concert they put on annually. I’ve heard some of the incredible and heart wrenching stories of the kids there. Read their frequently updated blog here. I desperately need your help in getting there. I need to raise $5,000 to go, travel where I’m needed, updating the photo gear I need to make this trip and some to simply give to the Academy. I’m in the process of making photo books to sell in the next couple of weeks. 
So, as you can see, some exciting things are coming up. Also, a little side note – the sky has been absolutely breathtaking on a continual basis, and I’m going to start documenting it on a continual basis and share it with you. 

night sky

 

evening sky

 

stay tuned-
lauren 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 10, 2008 at 11:05 PM

Leave a Reply

